Thursday, August 13, 2009

Its Official AWATS live will be recorded

Todd Rundgren today announced that he will film and record his A Wizard, A True Star concert for a forthcoming live DVD and live CD when he plays the Palace Theater in Stamford, Connecticut on 9th September. The two-disc set is scheduled for an early 2010 release through Music Publishing Corporation of America's label, Hi Fi Recordings.

The live recordings will include an all-star line-up consisting of former members of Utopia, The Cars, Meat Loaf's band, and The Tubes: Todd Rundgren (vocals, guitar), Roger Powell (synthesizers and keyboards), Greg Hawkes (synthesizers and keyboards), Kasim Sulton (bass), Jesse Gress (guitar), Bobby Strickland (percussion), and Prairie Prince (drums).

The tour will mark the first time Rundgren has performed the this highly influential prog rock album in its entirety (there are several songs from AWATS that have never been performed live anywhere, full-stop).

AWATS dates currently on sale include -

* Akron Civic Center, Akron, Ohio – 6th September 2009
* Akron Civic Center, Akron, Ohio – 7th September 2009
* Palace Theater, Stamford, Connecticut – 9th September 2009
* Strathmore Hall, North Bethesda, Maryland – 10th September 2009
* Park West, Chicago – 12th September 2009
* Park West, Chicago – 13th September 2009
* State Theatre, Minneapolis - 15th September 2009
* HMV London Hammersmith Apollo – 6th February 2010
* The Paradiso, Amsterdam – 8th February 2010

Additional dates will be announced in the coming weeks.

Read the official UK press release here -

1 comment:

DiscConnected said...

If you live in one of these cities, get yerself a ticket and see this show!